skip to Main Content

Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation (EEJF) is a grant-making foundation based in Oklahoma that provides grants to journalism institutions throughout the United States.

Ethics and Excellence in Journalism Foundation has four program areas: Investigative Reporting, Professional Development, Oklahoma Journalism and Special Opportunities. Within each of these program areas, the Foundation gives special preference to programs focusing on ethics and new media. All income, except the cost of administration and taxes, has been designated by the founder for charitable and educational purposes. All distributions must meet the definition of a “qualifying distribution” as set forth in Section 4942(g) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, or applicable provisions of other federal tax laws.


Board of Directors

William J. Ross
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Having served the Foundation since it was established, Ross is its Chairman. A former senior partner at Rainey, Ross, Rice, & Binns law firm in Oklahoma City, Ross was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame in 2015.

Robert J. Ross
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

A former associate at McAfee & Taft law firm, Ross joined the Foundation in 2003 as Vice President and Executive Director, and in 2005, he became President and CEO of the Foundation.

David O. Hogan
Tulsa, Oklahoma

A former partner at Arthur Andersen & Co., as well as his own firm Hogan Taylor (formerly Hogan & Slovacek). He is Chairman of the Investment Committee.

Andrew W. Roff
Houston, Texas

Roff is Vice Chairman of Roff Resources and formerly served both Pennzoil Company and PetroUnited Terminals.

J. Hugh Roff, Jr.
Houston, Texas

Roff is Chairman of Roff Resources. Roff was Chairman, President, and CEO of United Energy Resources and Chairman of PetroUnited Terminals.

Patrick T. Rooney
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Rooney is CEO of First National Bank of Oklahoma. Prior to its sale to UMB, he was Chairman of Charter National Bank.


Elizabeth Gould
Grants Manager

Tyler Tokarczyk
Program Officer

Journalism Consultants

Ed Kelley

Vivian Vahlberg

John A. Rieger

Sue Hale

Back To Top